More Details on WWE Adding the “Legacy Award” to the WWE Hall of Fame This Year

As noted, WWE posted a graphic in its online store advertising the “Legacy Award” at this year’s Hall of Fame ceremony.

The graphic lists seven pro wrestling legends including Ed “Strangler” Lewis, Frank Gotch, George Hackenschmidt, Lou Thesz, Mildred Burke, Pat O’Connor and “Sailor” Art Thomas.

According to F4WOnline, Gotch and Hackenschmidt responsible for the first huge gate and spearheading wresting getting national headlines, Lewis being the most famous wrestler of the 20s, Thesz being the dominant world champion of the 50s, Burke being the first women’s champion to get worldwide attention and O’Connor being one of the smoothest workers of his day.

WWE has already inducted Gorgeous George, Buddy Rogers and Argentina Rocca, who were contemporaries of Thesz and O’Connor, however the company has yet to induct anyone into the WWE Hall of Fame prior to the days of television. It appears as if the “Legacy Award” might be honoring the pioneers of pro wrestling who were not TV stars.

5.0 / 5
Thanks for voting!

Since 2001, WrestlingAttitude is your number one source for WWE wrestling news, rumors and results. Make sure to follow us on social media to get the latest news in real time! We are facebook, Twitter, Pinterest and Instagram at the following links:

WA on Facebook -
WA on Facebook (Women's Wrestling) -
WA on Twitter -
WA on Instagram (Women's Wrestling) -
WA on Google News -

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.